Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS
Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE WILLIAM R. "BILL" WHITMIRE REPRESENTATIVE GARY E. CLARY MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS

KENNETH M. MOFFITT CHIEF COUNSEL

RICHARD P. FULMER

JAMESON BROGGI

ARYN BAXA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- 28, 2015 CONTACT:

-803-212-6402

OCTOBER
David Owens

Three Seats Opening on State DOT Commission

COLUMBIA -- A joint legislative panel is accepting notice from residents living in South Carolina's 1st, 3rd, and 5th congressional districts who are interested in running for a term on the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission. The Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) will receive notices of intent until 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 25, 2015.

The Department of Transportation Commission directs the Department of Transportation's activities concerning the implementation, construction, maintenance, and repairs of South Carolina's transportation network. Applicants must possess certain qualifications in order to stand for election. Applicants will undergo a screening process that includes a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check, a credit check, completion of a comprehensive personal data questionnaire, a financial disclosure, and a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form. The process also includes an investigation and a public screening by the ten-member JTRC and its staff.

Only individuals that the JTRC finds qualified may stand for election. Election is by those members of the General Assembly who reside in the 1st, 3rd, and 5th congressional districts. Commission terms begin on February 15, 2016 and expire on February 15, 2020.

Prospective candidates living in South Carolina's 1st, 3rd and 5th congressional districts must notify the Joint Transportation Review Committee in writing of their intent to apply. <u>The letter must include the person's: 1) original signature, 2) county of residence, 3) physical home address, 4) email, and 5) daytime phone number. Letters of intent will not be accepted after 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 25, 2015.</u>

Letters of intent and questions related to the screening process should be directed to:

David Owens/JTRC P.O. Box 142 Columbia, S.C. 29202 803-212-6402

More information is available at <u>www.scstatehouse.gov</u> under 'Committee Postings', then 'Joint Transportation Review Committee'.